About USS and contacts About USS and contacts

"Our role is to provide all staff and students at UEA with advice and guidance on safety.  We have neither an executive nor an enforcement role.  We are always available to answer any questions or queries you may have relating to health and safety at work and actively encourage people to contact us should they require guidance.  Safety management is the responsibility of those, within the University, who are in charge of work, of students or of other staff.  Safety Services provides advice to support this activity".

Download the Statement of Health and Safety Policy

 

How to find us

We are based on Floor 0 in the Hubert Lamb building (number 8), also home to the Climatic Research Unit (CRU), which is the round building between Estates and the Lasdun Teaching Wall.

You can access the offices via stairs from the ground floor or, via the bridge from Environmental Sciences on floor 0, next to the ENV Social Space.

We are open to visitors on work days between the hours of 09.00 and 16.00.

Please see the UEA Campus Map for our location on the campus. Please contact us if you have trouble in locating the offices.

 

How to contact us

For general enquires, telephone Ext. 2763 or e-mail safetyservices@uea.ac.uk

For enquiries relating to Display Screen Equipment, e-mail dse@uea.ac.uk

Name Position Ext. Email
Paul Donson Director of Safety Services 2199 p.donson@uea.ac.uk
Karen Thompson Deputy Director 3945 karen.thompson@uea.ac.uk
Mark Farley Fire Officer 3608 m.farley@uea.ac.uk
Jim Hunter Radiation & Safety Officer 2107 j.hunter@uea.ac.uk
Simon Walklate Safety & Training Officer 3577 s.walklate@uea.ac.uk
Misba Tasawar Technician 2241

m.tasawar@uea.ac.uk

Janet Samuel Secretary 2763 j.samuel@uea.ac.uk

Safety Services Intranet