Research Ethics Subcommittees (S-RECs) Research Ethics Subcommittees (S-RECs)

The University of East Anglia has 10 Research Ethics Subcommittees that can review projects undertaken by UEA staff or students.

If your project involves animal research (including non-vertebrate species, projects not subject to Home Office licensing, and projects that do not involve regulated procedures - e.g. fieldwork research and observational studies) please submit your ethics application to:

  • AWERB: Animal Welfare and Ethical Review Board

If your project involves human participants (including their personal data or tissue) and/or may have an impact on the environment or cultural objects, please submit your ethics application to your School or Faculty REC:

  • CMP-REC for the School of Computing Sciences

  • DEV-REC for the School of International Development

  • ECO-REC for the School of Economics

  • EDU-REC for the School of Education and Lifelong Learning

  • FMH-REC for the Norwich Medical School, School of Health Sciences and School of Pharmacy as well as any other projects involving human tissue

  • General-REC for Schools in the Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Law School and the School of Environmental Sciences

  • NBS-REC for the Norwich Business School

  • SWK-REC for the School of Social Work

  • PSY-REC for the School of Psychology

For all other Schools, please contact the relevant S-REC Chair to discuss the ethics review of your project in the first instance. The current members of the S-RECs can be found here.

The University's Research Ethics Policy is implemented by procedures determined by the Terms of Reference for the S-RECs.