Winners of the Innovation and Impact Awards 2019 were announced on Thursday 31 January at a glittering ceremony held at the Sainsbury Centre. The Awards were presented by guests from a range of businesses and organisations that regularly collaborate with UEA, and the ceremony featured a keynote address from Doug Field, Chair of New Anglia LEP.

The Awards celebrate staff and students who have shown a strong commitment to innovation and impact, and recognised vital collaborations between UEA and organisations outside of higher education.

Finalists, UEA staff, guests, and external organisations, attended for networking drinks, a three-course meal, and presentation of the awards. The evening was a great success and a true celebration of the world-changing research and innovation activities taking place at UEA.


The winners are:

Award for Student or Graduate Innovation and Enterprise – Dr Oskar Wendowski (MED/PHA) and Dr Thuria Abduljhbar (MED) for e-Surgery

Presented by Rebecca Lewis Smith, Fountain Partnership

Consultancy Project of the Year – Prof Rachel Warren, Prof Corinne Le Quere, Asher Minns and colleagues (ENV/TYN) for ‘Impacts of Climate Change’. As Prof Warren was unable to attend the ceremony in person, the award was collected on her behalf by Dr Naomi Vaughan (ENV/TYN) and Dr Johanna Forster (DEV/TYN).

Presented by Steve Davidson, Marsh

SME Collaboration of the Year – Matthew Bennett (SCI) for ‘SmartCondensing’

Presented by Glen Webster, Barclays

Outstanding Social or Cultural Impact – Dr Eylem Atakav (AMA) for ‘Growing up Married’

Presented by Steve Miller, Norfolk Museums Service

Outstanding Impact in Policy and Practice – Dr Martin Scott (DEV) for ‘Supporting Humanitarian Journalism’

Presented by Fiona Ryder, TCD Media

Outstanding Commercialisation of Technology – Dr Sheng Qi (PHA) for ‘Technology Solutions for Treating Diseases’

Presented by Lisa Perkins, BT

Outstanding Impact in Health, Wellbeing and Welfare – Dr Karen Bunning (HSC) for ‘Childhood Disability in Rural Kenya’

Presented by Richard Snell, IBM

ESRC Impact Accelerator Account Award – Dr Andrew Mayes (CHE) for ‘Microplastic Detection’

Presented by Caroline Jarrold, Jarrold & Sons


Prof Fiona Lettice, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Innovation, hosted the evening and said:

“UEA truly is a hub of pioneering, ground-breaking research excellence and innovation, and these awards celebrate the fantastic work being undertaken by our staff and students alike. They also highlight the support of our external collaborators, without whom such successes would not be possible.”

Each finalist received a trophy to commemorate their achievement and each category winner will also receive funding towards a marketing venture for their project, to further their impact and reach.

For more information about the Innovation & Impact Awards 2020, please email



We would also like to thank the judges for their time and for their invaluable contribution to the Innovation and Impact Awards.

Judging panel for the Innovation and Impact Awards 2019:


Prof Fiona Lettice, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation (Chair)

Prof Laura Bowater, Academic Director for Innovation 

Dr Jon Carter, Head of Innovation, RIN 

Prof Konstantinos Chalvatzis, Associate Dean for Innovation, SSF 

Prof Claire Jowitt, Associate Dean for Research, HUM 

Prof Ted Turocy, Associate Dean Research, SSF 

Julia Warner, Head of Research, RIN 

Glen Webster, Barclays, Area Business Manager 




Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter for news and updates @UEAIIAwards