Innovation and Impact awards 2018 Winners Announced Innovation and Impact awards 2018 Winners Announced

Winners of the inaugural Innovation and Impact Awards were announced on 1 February at the Sainsbury Centre. The awards celebrated staff and students who have shown a strong commitment to innovation and impact, and recognised collaborations between UEA and organisations outside higher education.

Finalists, UEA staff, guests, and external organisations, including Adnams, Anglian Water, Barclays, EDP, IBM, Innovate UK, Marsh, New Anglia LEP, and Norwich City Council, attended for networking drinks, a three-course meal, and presentation of the awards.

The awards ceremony was hosted by Chancellor Karen Jones CBE, who spoke passionately about the importance of innovation and enterprise at UEA and fostering relationships with external collaborators to further ensure impact beyond academia.

The winners for the award categories were as follows:


Outstanding Impact in Policy and Practice

Presented by: Chris Sargisson, Norfolk Chamber of Commerce

Prof Andy Jordan, Dr Tim Rayner and Brendan Moore (Tyndall Centre, ENV): Europe, the UK and the Natural Environment: Impacting the EU Referendum and the Brexit process

Outstanding Commercialisation of Technology

Presented by: Glen Webster, Barclays

Prof Douglas Yu (BIO) and Dr Kat Bruce: NatureMetrics

Outstanding Social or Cultural Impact

Presented by: Brenda Arthur, Norfolk and Norwich Festival

Henry Sutton, Dr Laura Joyce and Dr Sara Helen Binney (LDC): Crime Pays: Bringing Noir to Norwich

Outstanding Impact in Health, Wellbeing and Welfare

Presented by: Howard Partridge, Innovate UK

Dr John Ford, Prof Andy Jones and Prof Nicholas Steel (MED): Improving Access for All: Reducing inequalities in access to General Practice services

ESRC Impact Accelerator Account Award

Presented by: Brian Horner, Chair of ESRC IAA External Advisory Board

Dr Derwin Gregory (HIS): Operation WALBEA: What the Americans Left Behind in East Anglia

Award for Student or Graduate Innovation & Enterprise

Presented by: Lucy Marks, Norfolk Network

Paul Donati and Lottie Michael (LAW): Catching a Fish in Norway (CAFIN)

Consultancy Project of the Year

Presented by: Salena Dawson, Federation of Small Businesses

Dr Michael Wormstone (BIO): Improving Cataract Surgery Outcomes

SME Collaboration of the Year

Presented by: Jacyn Heavens, Epos Now

Liz Rix (SAF): Science Analytical Facility

UEA Innovation Fellows

Presented by: Prof Fiona Lettice & Prof David Richardson, UEA

Prof Graham Finlayson (CMP)

Prof David Russell (CHE)


Fiona Lettice, UEA’s Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Innovation, said: “The impact that UEA staff, students and alumni have on society, culture and the economy is truly incredible.  We had many worthy nominations in all of the award categories and the level of innovation was high, causing the judging panel much deliberation. 

“These awards celebrate and showcase UEA’s pioneering research and innovation, which makes a positive difference locally, nationally and internationally, by addressing global challenges and by influencing policy and practice across a wide range of sectors and communities.”

Each category winner has received funding towards a marketing venture for their project, which will be shared soon.

A huge congratulations to all of our finalists- keep your eyes peeled for more information about applying for next year’s awards.


Find us on Twitter: @UEAIIAWARDS

Photos from the event are available here and below (for desktop and laptop users):