MA Creative Writing Course MA Creative Writing Course


UEA established the country’s first MA in creative writing and remains the best, and best-known, having facilitated the emergence of new writers for more than forty years including: Ian McEwan, Kazuo Ishiguro, Anne Enright, Tracy Chevalier, Adam Foulds, Andrew Miller, Tash Aw, Naomi Alderman, John Boyne and David Almond among many others  It was founded by Sir Malcolm Bradbury (1932-2000) and Sir Angus Wilson (1913-1991) in 1970 and its first candidate was the English novelist Ian McEwan. Other teachers on the course have included: Angela Carter, Lorna Sage, Michelle Roberts, Patricia Duncker, Andrew Motion, Giles Foden, Lavinia Greenlaw.

The School of English and American Studies was dissolved on 1 August 2004 and three new schools came into existence: Literature and Creative Writing (LIT), Film and Television Studies (FTV) and American Studies (AMS).

Further restructuring occurred in subsequent years and the course is now offered by the School of Literature, Drama and Creative Writing (LDC).

Scope and content of the collection

The initial files forming this collection were deposited by Bradbury (Professor of English and American Studies at UEA, 1970-1994) in 2000, with additional papers being added in 2006.

Since 2015 this collection is incorporated in the British Archive for Contemporary Writing (BACW).

The collection contains copies of students' screenwriting scripts and short stories submitted between 1992 and 1995 under the course leadership of Bradbury. Also included are MA dissertations, printed ephemera and correspondence from foreign conferences and tours, and coursework papers deposited after Bradbury’s death.

Listing of this collection [, 250KB]

Related collections

Malcolm Bradbury Archive

Naomi Alderman Archive 

Tash Aw Archive