BIM information and links BIM information and links

The New Academic Model is the name for a wide-ranging set of reforms to UEA’s undergraduate learning & teaching regulations which were agreed in 2011 for implementation from 2013/14. 

This page provides further information on the regulations for the 'Bachelors and Integrated Masters Award'


The key objectives of the reforms were:

  • To set high expectations for students on the basis that they will be encouraged to engage well with their studies; 
  • To move emphasis from the module to the course as the principal unit for curriculum and assessment design and management; and
  • To reduce where possible the number of summatively assessed pieces of work and to increase the number of formative assessments and to enhance the quality of feedback given to students.


The main features of the Bachelors and Integrated Masters Award include:

  • Students will be required to pass all modules under the new model, with a limited amount of compensation introduced from 2016/7 onwards
  • Requirements for attendance will be set at school level. Students will be informed in advance which session will be monitored
  • If students fail a module, they will have to meet certain criteria to be allowed to undertake reassessment
  • The minimum module size will be 20 credits
  • All courses will deliver clearly defined programme level learning outcomes

Additional Information

Further information on the key objectives and key elements of the reform can be found here

Addendum to BIM Regulations - Compensation

Using Assessment to Support Student Learning - by Professor Graham Gibbs

Information for Intercalators

New Academic Model Document Archive