Bachelors and Integrated Masters Award (BIM) Bachelors and Integrated Masters Award (BIM)

The New Academic Model is the name for a wide-ranging set of reforms introduced in 2013/4 to UEA's undergraduate learning and teaching regulations. The new regulations led to the Bachelors and Integrated Masters Award (BIM).  

Key objectives to the reforms

  • To set high expectations for students on the basis that they will be encouraged to engage well with their studies
  • To move emphasis from the module to the course as the principal unit for curriculum and assessment design and management
  • To reduce where possible the number of summatively assessed pieces of work and to increase the number of formative assessments and to enhance the quality of feedback

Main Features of the BIM Award

  • Students will be required to pass all modules under the new model, with a limited amount of compensation introduced from 2016/7 onwards
  • Requirements for attendance will be set at School level. Students will be informed in advance which session will be monitored
  • If students fail a module, they will have to meet certain criteria to be allowed to undertake reassessment
  • The minimum module size will be 20 credits
  • All courses will deliver clearly defined programme level learning outcomes
  • Further information on the main features fo the BIM Award

Additional Information

Addendum to BIM Regulations - Compensation

Using Assessment to Support Student Learning - by Professor Graham Gibbs

New Academic Model Document Archive