OneDrive makes it easy to share files with others. This makes it a very useful tool for collaboration, both inside and outside the University, but to avoid sharing documents too widely it is important to understand how OneDrive works. 

We’ve put together some tips to get you started, and for more help you can contact the IT Service Desk, view the CSED training materials (login required) or take a look at Microsoft’s Office 365 Training Centre.

These tips assume you’re looking at OneDrive via a web browser. To do this, go to office365.uea.ac.uk, log in with your usual UEA username and password and click OneDrive.

How to share a file or folder, and set different access levels How to share a file or folder, and set different access levels

1. Find the file you wish to share.

2. Select the file using the tick at the left of the file name.

3. Click the 'Share' button at the top.

4. Enter the name of the person to share the file with.

5. Review and edit the settings, to make sure the person you're sharing with gets the right level of access. N.B. If you select the 'Anyone with the link' option then the file can be opened by anyone, if they have the link. This option must not be chosen if the file contains personal or confidential information.

6. Click 'Send'.

See more on this topic

How to check if you’re sharing a file with others How to check if you’re sharing a file with others

1. Find the file you wish to check.

2. Check the Sharing column - 'Private' means it’s not shared. 'Shared' means sharing has been set up.

3. Click on the word 'Private' or 'Shared' for further details. This opens up the Manage Access area, where you can tell if you're sharing with specific people (direct access), or sharing via a link. Remember that sharing via a link can give you less control over a file - see above. 

You can also check the 'Shared by me' overview:

1. Click 'Shared' on the left hand menu.

2. Click 'Shared by me' at the top of the screen.

The files you are sharing should be shown.

See more on this topic

How to see what people are sharing with you How to see what people are sharing with you

1. Click 'Shared' on the left hand menu.

2. Check 'Shared with me' is selected at the top of the screen.

A selection of the files that are shared with you should be shown.

See more on this topic

How to see who’s looked at your file How to see who’s looked at your file

You can view the File Statistics for a shared file by hovering over the file name. A box will pop up giving details and an option for further information.

See more on this topic

How to stop sharing How to stop sharing

1. Find the file you want to make private.

2. Select 'Shared' in the Sharing column

3. In the 'Manage access' window that will open, click 'Stop Sharing'

See more on this topic

What to do if you’ve shared too much What to do if you’ve shared too much

If you are concerned that you’ve shared information that shouldn’t have been shared, or that information has been shared too widely (with people it shouldn’t have been shared with), contact the data protection team at dataprotection@uea.ac.uk.