about the programme about the programme

The Developing Teaching Skills (DTS) Programme is a stand-alone 20 credit Masters module offered by the UEA Centre for Staff and Educational Development and the UEA School of Education.  It is aimed at postgraduate teaching assistants, demonstrators and postdoctoral researchers who are less experienced in teaching.  Completion of DTS is required by some Schools if you wish to undertake teaching and most Faculties count DTS towards PPD credits (check with your Faculty office). Successful completion of the module leads to Associate Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy.

The programme is designed to help you understand and engage with the UK Professional Standards Framework for teaching and supporting learning in higher education (UKPSF) which underpins the whole approach of DTS.  You will be introduced to the UKPSF in the first session (‘An Introduction to Learning and Teaching and to Developing Practice’) where we will help you develop an awareness of how the UKPSF should inform your own practice.  The UKPSF will be returned to in subsequent sessions, as we explore the different types of - and contexts for - teaching, always relating theory to practice in order to assist you to a clear working definition of professional standards and the professional role. 

 

WHAT ARE THE LEARNING COMMITMENTS? WHAT ARE THE LEARNING COMMITMENTS?

To complete, you are required to attend the four core modules and a minimum of two options (although it is possible to attend all options if you wish) to reflect your own discipline and interests.  All the core modules and the most popular optional modules are repeated autumn, spring and summer. Some optional modules will only run once or twice each academic year.  There is a written coursework element in the form of an e-portfolio and reflective essay which is assessed on a pass/fail basis. 

Postdoctoral researchers and less experienced academic staff may take the full module, or attend individual sessions. Participants who are members of academic staff and registered for the MA-HEP may carry this credit over as APL.

PROGRAMME STRUCTURE PROGRAMME STRUCTURE

CORE SESSIONS

  • An Introduction to Learning & Teaching and Developing Practice 
  • Supporting Students with Individual Learning Needs 
  • Assessing Students’ Learning 
  • Evaluation of Learning and Development 

 

OPTIONAL SESSIONS

  • Developing Presentation Skills 
  • Teaching International Students 
  • Designing and Leading Seminars to Promote Learning 
  • Giving an Effective Lecture
  • The Museum: a participatory approach to teaching
  • Blended Learning


More details about the DTS are in the online leaflet. For the best viewing experience click 'Read now' to view full screen.

Dates and times Dates and times

CORE MODULES DATES
An Introduction to Learning and Teaching and to Developing Practice

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 17 October 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 16 January 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 10 April 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Supporting Students with Individual Learning Needs

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 24 October 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 23 January 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 17 April 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Assessing Students' Learning

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 31 October 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 30 January 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 24 April 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Evaluation of Learning and Development

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 19 December 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 20 March 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 12 June 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

OPTIONAL MODULES DATES
Developing Presentation Skills

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 7 November 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 6 February 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 1 May 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Teaching International Students

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 14 November 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 13 February 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 08 May 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

The Museum: a Participatory Approach to Teaching

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 28 November 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 27 February 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 22 May 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Giving an Effective Lecture

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 05 December 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 06 March 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 29 May 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Designing and Leading Seminars to Promote Learning

Autumn 2017
Tuesday 12 December 2017, 9.30am-12.30pm

Spring 2018
Tuesday 13 March 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

Summer 2018
Tuesday 05 June 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm

 

 

HOW TO APPLY HOW TO APPLY

Contact Us Contact Us

The key contacts for the DTS are:

Pablo Dalby

Module Organiser

p.dalby@uea.ac.uk
01603 59 (3777)

Michelle Jones

Co-ordinator of the DTS

michelle.jones@uea.ac.uk
01603 59 (3191)