Encouraging members of staff to consider becoming a school governors Encouraging members of staff to consider becoming a school governors

As part of UEA’s Access Agreement with the Office for Students and work undertaken with the Recruitment and Outreach department, the University is keen to support local schools and encourage members of staff to consider becoming a school governor.

The University’s Outreach department can help UEA staff to find volunteering placements as governors in local schools (please find below list of current vacancies). 

To support school governors who work at UEA, the UEA Governors Network has recently been established to meet up to three times a year to share best practice, ideas and engage in relevant training which we hope will be useful to your role as a school governor. The online platform GovernorHub is used to facilitate the Network.

Becoming a governor 

Becoming a school governor is a voluntary role and a very rewarding opportunity for continued personal development as you may have the opportunity to be involved in a wide range of issues running a school from raising academic attainment to student recruitment. 

Training will be provided by local schools and/or academies. You are not required to be a parent or have a prior relationship with a school to be able to be a governor.

As part of your role as a governor, there may be times that you will be required to be out of the office for governor duties in-school during office hours.

Before applying for a governor position, please seek guidance from your manager about the usual commitments of a governor. Guidance from Human Resources on the time that staff can take out of the office for governor duties will be published shortly, please do speak to us if you have any queries in the meantime.

Current vacancies

For further information and how to apply, please email governors@uea.ac.uk 


  • Ashleigh Primary School (Wymondham) - keen to have UEA student as school governor
  • Attleborough Primary School
  • Benjamin Britten School (Lowestoft)
  • Caister Academy (Great Yarmouth)
  • City Academy Norwich (Norwich)
  • City of Norwich School (Norwich)
  • Cliff Park Ormiston Academy (Great Yarmouth)
  • Colman Infant (Norwich)
  • Diocese of Norwich Priority Academies and Schools (more are available):

Kessingland Church of England Primary Academy (Suffolk)

Gayton and Middleton Federation

Moorlands Church of England Primary Academy (Belton)

Open Academy (Norwich)

Rudham & Weasenham Federation 

St Michael's Church of England Primary Academy (Kings Lynn)

Swaffham Church of England Junior Academy

Bishop’s Church of England Primary Academy (Thetford)

Thomas Bullock Church of England Primary Academy (Shipdham)

Unity Federation (Sculthorpe, West Raynham, Colkirk, Little Snoring)

  • Edward Worlledge Ormiston Academy (Great Yarmouth)
  • Hethersett VC Junior School (Norwich)
  • Iceni Academy (Thetford)
  • Marshland High School (Wisbech)
  • Ormiston Cliff Park Infants and Junior Academies (joint governing board for both schools) (Great Yarmouth)
  • Ormiston Herman Academy (Great Yarmouth)
  • Queen's Hill Primary School (Norwich)
  • Sewell Park Academy (Norwich)
  • The Nebula Federation Governing Board (all six schools including: Frettenham Primary School, Hainford Church of England Primary School, Horsford Church of England VA Primary School, Old Catton Church of England Junior School, St Faiths' Church of England Primary School and White Woman Lane Junior School)
  • Wayland Junior Academy (Watton)